Can’t Wait Wednesday – The Black Flamingo

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings where you showcase an upcoming book that you are looking forward to.

This week I am showcasing The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta.

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta
Published by: Hodder Children’s Books
Released: 8th August 2019

41020406. sx318 Fiercely told, this is a timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about the journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy.


A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen – then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers – to show ourselves to the world in bold colour.

*I masquerade in makeup and feathers and I am applauded.*


I am really interested in reading more novels that are written in verse and this one just sounds incredible! I have read Dean Atta’s poem in Proud Book and it captivated me, so I cannot wait to read this! Also the fact that it’s a diverse LGBTQ+ book just seals the deal.

5 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday – The Black Flamingo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s