Spotlight On…Man Down by James Goodhand (Blog Tour)

Thank you to The Write Reads for allowing me to take part in this blog tour.

Today I am shining the spotlight on Man Down, a gritty YA thriller all about toxic masculinity by James Goodhand. This is James’ second novel. His first novel, Last Lesson was released in April 2020.

Man Down by James Goodhand

Published By: Penguin

Released: 3rd March 2022

Goodreads / Waterstones

Synopsis

Will Parks needs to man up.

A man stands. A man fights. A man bleeds.

These are the first lessons you learn in a town where girls are objects, words are weak and fists do the talking.

Will’s more at home in the classroom than the gym, and the most important woman in his life is his gran. So how can a boy who’s always backed away from a fight become the hero who saves the day?

Because a disaster is coming. One that Will can prevent. But only if he learns the most important lesson of all: sometimes to step up, you have to man down. 

A searingly powerful exploration of toxic masculinity, perfect for fans of Juno Dawson or They Both Die at the End.

About the Author

James lives in Surrey with his wife and newborn son.

He took up writing three years ago. A mechanic by day, much of his work has been written at an oil stained workbench whilst ignoring a queue of broken cars in need of his attention.

James is also a keen musician, regularly gigging as a rhythm & blues pianist.

​James’ debut YA novel, Last Lesson, tackling teen mental illness and toxic masculinity, was published in spring 2020 by Penguin Random House Children’s

One thought on “Spotlight On…Man Down by James Goodhand (Blog Tour)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s